top of page


After years of study, the U. S. Department of the Interior reported in June 2019 that the Chisholm and Western Trails meet the criteria to be designated as National Historic Trails.  Senator Jerry Moran and Congressman Ron Estes have developed legislation that would designate the trails while protecting the rights of private property owners along the way.  We strongly support this legislation and we commend Senator Moran and Congressman Estes.


These Congressional leaders are now inviting their fellow members of Congress in the trail states to become original cosponsors of this legislation.  The deadline for original cosponsorship is close of business on Wednesday, February 26.


Now is the time for you to contact your state’s members of Congress and urge them to cosponsor these bills.  Call the Capitol switchboard at (202) 224-3121, ask for each of your members of Congress, and encourage them to cosponsor Senator Moran’s or Congressman Estes’s bills to designate the Chisholm and Western Trails as National Historic Trails.


Here is a list.  Those with a * are already sponsors.  You can thank them!



Deb Fischer           

Ben Sasse              



Jeff Fortenberry

Don Bacon

Adrian Smith





Jerry Moran*

Pat Roberts*


Congressmen and women:

Roger Marshall*

Steve Watkins

Sharice Davids

Ron Estes*





James Inhofe

James Lankford     


Congressmen and women:

Kevin Hern

Markwayne Mullin

Frank Lucas

Tom Cole*

Kendra Horn



John Cornyn

Ted Cruz


Congressmen and women (whose districts include the trails):

Ron Wright

Michael T. McCaul

Mike Conaway

Kay Granger

Mac Thornberry

Vicente Gonzalez

Bill Flores

Jodey Arrington

Joaquin Castro

Chip Roy

Will Hurd

Roger Williams

Michael Burgess

Michael Cloud

Henry Cuellar

John Carter


For them to be original cosponsors, which is our goal, legislators should cosponsor by February 26.


Contact your legislators today!


ICTA Legislative Committee

bottom of page